Happy Chinese New Year!

Chinese new year was the most exciting time of the year for me when I was a child. That was the day when I could legitimately stay up late, watch interesting programmes on tv and play with sparklers and party poppers with cousins. As the years went by, the fun seems to have worn off but this year, with Sophia being able to sort of participate (at least in the form of eating a lot of “ba kua” (bbq pork)), its starting to become more enjoyeable again.

Here’s wishing one and all a happy year of the snake. Pardon me as I continue to indulge in the festivities and hopefully after the 15 days of new year I will be posting more regularly than last year!

Gong Xi Fa Cai!

Being in the thick of action at the Chinatown Festivals celebration is one of the most amazing experiences.

Being in the thick of action at the Chinatown Festivals celebration is one of the most amazing experiences.

This is the closest I've come to firecrackers in my life. The gunpowder was literally falling on my head. See the thick smoke? Coupled with the beautiful confetti, you can't get more festive than that.

This is the closest I’ve come to firecrackers in my life. The gunpowder was literally falling on my head. See the thick smoke? Coupled with the beautiful confetti, you can’t get more festive than that.

We had expected Sophia to be very shy but she actually interacted quite well with the relatives, much to our pleasant surprise.

We had expected Sophia to be very shy but she actually interacted quite well with the relatives, much to our pleasant surprise.

 

But, of course, the result of all the visiting is a completely messed up sleep schedule and lots of power naps at random locations.

But, of course, the result of all the visiting is a completely messed up sleep schedule and lots of power naps at random locations.

 

Leave a Reply

