Incredibly simple and tasty panfried Salmon recipe

I’m just so surprised at how tasty a piece of panfried salmon that I put absolutely no thought into turned out and I simply had to share it.

I’m actually making pizza with Sophia, which was not too bad in itself and decided given how processed meats like ham and sausages aren’t the healthiest, chickens are pumped full of hormones and I just can’t think up a pork pizza recipe, I’ll do a  salmon pizza. I didn’t want to do a smoked salmon one since Sophia is eating so I followed the only cooked salmon pizza recipe I could find on the fly, here. I used follow very loosely because I really just got the idea from it and improvised. 

I bought a big chunk of Salmon and only used 1/3 of it for the mini pizzas. The rest I washed, pat dry, put into a pan with some olive oil skin side with and turned the flame to medium-low. I then ground some salt and black pepper over it and let it slowly fry. When its almost 3/4 cooked, I drizzled the juice of a 1/4 lemon in and after 20 seconds flipped it over. At the same time I caramelized lemon slices on the side (not sure if this added to the taste). When the salmon was done I took it out and gosh, it was so tasty! Much better than most salmon that I put effort into making.

By the way, if anyone is interested in the salmon pizza recipe I ended up going with, I used a wholemeal pizza dough base. Nothing special about the base – flour, water, yeast, honey and olive oil in the appropriate proportions following a standard recipe that I found online. Thereafter:

1) Throw 3 slices of lemon in skillet to caramalise (I didn’t add the sugar).

2) Chop up one shallot and some dill

3) Grate mozzarella over pizza base

4) chop up caramelized lemon

5) top pizza with salmon, caramelized lemon, shallot and some dill

6) sprinkle the slightest bit of brown sugar on salmon, about 1/4 teaspoon.

7) Stick it in the oven

I rather enjoyed the tart surprise with the caramelized lemons that were not sweetened but I gather its not something that everyone will necessarily appreciate so go ahead and add sugar to it if you prefer.

Yum. I had a good dinner today and so did Sophia who just ate and ate.

Leave a Reply

