Avocado milkshake recipe

Huh? Do we really need a recipe for milkshake? Isn’t it milk+fruit+sugar +ice? Yes and no. Because of avocado milkshake’s touted breastmilk enhancing effects, I have tried many versions and found many to be too sweet, too watery or simply lacking flavour. My favourite is from a store on the ground floor of China Square Central, which really has kick, like a good Chendol. I found out that it was because they use gula melaka. I tried asking them to reduce the sugar to a quarter of the normal amount and it is still delicious, and that is what I get when I am lazy. 

However, homemade is still much better as the avocado will be freshly cut with minimum time for oxidationand I use organic full cream milk which we always keep for Sophia’s daily consumption rather than the non organic, sometimes even UHT milk used outside. I’m too lazy to prepare gula melaka so I substitute with virgin coconut oil plus brown sugar. It was a stroke of genius if I may say so myself. The taste was quite similar, with the fragrance of coconut and a slight sweetness, and even healthier because of the cold pressed oil supposed to be full of goodness (and milk boosting). Here’s the recipe:

Ingredients

  • 1 small or 1/2 large avocado
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1 tablespoon virgin coconut oil
  • 1/4 teaspoon brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon sprouted flaxseed meal (optional)
  • Ice (optional)

Steps

  1. If not using ice, ensure avocado and milk are cold.
  2. Add everything in blender and blend well.
  3. Serve immediately.
Leave a Reply

