Baby speak

Inspired by Daphne (of Mother Inc)‘s post on baby Theo’s hilarious conversations, I thought I’ll post my very own baby’s funny speech. Nowhere near as advanced as Theo’s but equally entertaining (to me).

Frosty ABCs

Sandra: ABCDEFG, HIJK amehmehmo P, qoo ar S, TUV, WXY and Z, now I know my ABCs,

Me: next time won’t you sing with me

Sandra: next time won’t you sing with OLAF!

Missing her Cousin

Sandra: Sarah Lu Sarah Lu where are you? (with a big frown)

Here I am here I am how do you do. (with a huge smile)

Mine!

Most children who go to childcare centres or kindergarten seems to learn the word “Mine!” quite quickly. Sophia never did but Sandra picked it up quite quickly and uses it often and fervently at home. Sophia has the table turned on her when…

(Enter Stage left Sandra innocently holding a soft toy Eevee by the ear)

(Enter stage right Sophia who spotted Sandra doing this. Sophia sneaks up to Sandra, crouches down to peer at her face)

Sophia (shouting suddenly): Mine!

Sandra: (jumps a mile shouting) Ahhhhh!

Pig coloured diaper

(The background to this conversation is that the supermarket ran out of the girl version of XL sized diapers right at the point we needed to upgrade Sandra to XL, so we bought XL diapers in boys’ blue. Henceforth, she decided that the blue ones are more comfortable)

(During diaper changing as I walk towards Sandra with a pink XL sized diaper)

Sandra: I don’t want!!!

Me: What don’t you want?

Sandra: I don’t want *thinks very hard during a very long pause* oink oink diaper

Me: *strugling not to laugh* then what diaper do you want?

Sandra: booloo (blue) diaper

Mini diaper?

(During diaper changing as I walk towards Sandra with a pink XL sized diaper)

Sandra: I don’t want!!!

Me: What don’t you want?

Sandra: I don’t want pim (pink) colour diaper (she has progressed from oink oink to pim after being laughed at many times)

Me: Then what do you want?

Sandra: mini mini poo 

Me: What??

Sandra: Mini mini poo

Me: *puzzled* mini mini poo?

Sandra: Yes. (Nodding with great relief at my understanding)

Solution to the mini poo puzzle: Mamy Poko aka Winnie the Pooh diapers

Leave a comment