Kiasu mum

When she was learning to cruise a few months back, Sophia spent an inordinate amount of time in front of this mini fridge we have in the living room, using it as a walking/standing aid. This made me think it may be a good idea to buy some alphabet magnets for the fridge and maybe she’ll know all the alphabets by 18 months like Amy Chua’s daughter Sophia. Perhaps I was too ambitious because all she was interested in was swiping the magnets onto the floor and stepping on them… and making us sweep off the alphabets stuck to her feet thereafter. There goes all my grand plans. I remain hopeful that one day, when she’s ready, the alphabet magnets will become a good learning aid.

Pretty obvious where Sophia's hands swiped.

2 thoughts on “Kiasu mum

  1. I taught Jayden the alphabet with magnets just like these, and when Eva started walking and being more responsive at 15 months Jayden taught Eva the alphabet and how to read. I reckon children learn better if you’re not that worried about how fast they are at developing, but that’s just my opinion. Good luck 🙂

    • I know 🙂 I just bought these magnets to create the right environment but wasn’t really drilling her like tiger mum. Though having to pick up the magnets on the floor was frustrating and I do have a bit of an OCD syndrome so I kept arranging them to ensure that no piece has gone missing.

Leave a comment