Suncoat review

From my bircher muesli post you would have gathered that I grate fruits for Sophia every morning and hence dip my fingers and fingernails into her food on a daily basis. Because of this I have not gone for a manicure for months, for fear of introducign toxins into her food. Not that my fingers are constantly manicured in the past actually since my nails are actually quite weak and keeping them constantly under polish weaken them further, but I would like to have some colour on my nails once in a while for special occassions.  Hence I’ve been looking into suncoat, a water based nail polish. Its less toxic than ordinary nail polish.

When my shipment arrived I was really excited:

Suncoat polish and remover

 

I so wanted to love them and so did Sophia. She grabbed the bottle of nail polish remover and refused to return it to us. I pretended to hug her favourite bears to make her jealous and she just hugged the bottle. I told her pooh bear wanted to hug the bottle she allowed pooh bear to hug it only while she was holding it. I told her its time for a bath she wanted to bring it. We pried it out of her hands and carried her far away, she kicked and screamed and ran back to the exact spot where she last saw it. I was very glad it was soy and corn oil based so its quite safe even if she did manage to open it, which she didn’t.

On to the polishes, like I said, I so wanted to like them. Unfortunately, I didn’t. I couldn’t. I bought 3 colours, 2 of which were  a french manicure set in pink and white was completely dried out. The polish became a thick grainy mess. I followed instructions and added water drop by drop and shook. Did not help. Still grainy. I took the deep red one that came wrapped in a plastic wrapper. This was not gooey but was too runny. They went onto my nails like a stain, not polish. My fingers look like they’ve been stained by betal nut or something. It just looks plain disgusting and I had to take it off.

Another thing I realised is that I will never be a hand model, and that I should probably forget anything that draws any attention to my fingers.

 

The base seems decent enough and probbaly the only bottle that I may end up using, in combination with other polishes. The remover also surprisingly does the job of removing quite well if enough of it is used.

Overall quite disappointed. Wonder if I should give Honeybee Gardens a try. Or just give up the idea of wearing nail polish since no nail polish is actually completely free of toxin. Its just how toxic they are.

Leave a comment