Happy 15th month

Dearest Sophia,

I know, its a bit odd for me to write my loveletters to you at these strange months 9, 15  and whatnot. Blame it on my lack of planning I suppose.

Needless to say, the past few months you’ve gown so much. From being such a late crawler to now being able to walk very well without holding on to anyone or anything, the transition is nothing short of amazing. Your growing sense of independence is also a great transformation to witness. Previously you would always want to hold our hands when outside but now you happyly walk alone. Even in creche I used to have to sneak out when you’re preoccupied with the bears and now I can wave goodbye to you and you’ll wave back hapily! I don’t have to worry about sending you to kindergarten at all then, you’ll definitely adapt well and if you were to reject going to school I would know that it is because the teachers do not treat you with sufficient love and not that you are a sticky baby.

You’ve been shaking your head at everything for the longest time and although sometimes we know you don’t mean it, its really confusing us when you say something is *shake* not good but yet say *pointing at item* that you want it. Ever since you mastered the nod, communication with you has been so much easier. I’m quite glad really since you have such a strong will and if you want the cheddar biscuits then the oatmeal ones will not do at all. Pointing at the general direction does not help when there are many things in the same general direction so its great to be able to ask whether you want to go see Mickey Mouse (cold storage) or Dragon (chinatown).

You love to eat but the love extends only to things not meant for you. Which I guess is fair enough because things meant for you are generally not the tastiest but they are the healthiest! The look you give me when I tell you that you can only have the cheddar biscuits after you finish your breakfast of bircher muesli really pains me but I’ve got to do it else you’ll be eating nothing but junk all day!

You’re the best thing that has happened to me and my prayer for you is that you’ll grow up healthy and wise.

With lots of love, Mummy

1 thought on “Happy 15th month

  1. What a privilege to read Sophia’s first letters from her mum! And before she herself can even read it. 🙂 She surely is a big and independent girl now.

    I have learnt to hide biscuits away from our dining table so that it is out of her sight during meal times. Maybe that will work for you too.

Leave a comment